Is wheat starch gluten free?

Wheat starch is only gluten free if it has been processed to remove the gluten protein that causes problems for  those who have celiac disease and gluten sensitivity. When a food with a gluten-free label contains wheat starch, the package will also include a notation saying the wheat has been processed to allow the final food to meet the Food and Drug Administration standard of less then 20 parts per million of gluten. Foods that are not labeled gluten free and contain wheat starch are not considered safe on the gluten-free diet.

Find out the latest on wheat starch in gluten-free foods here.

Learn more about the health and medical experts who who provide you with the cutting-edge resources, tools, news, and more on Gluten-Free Living.
About Our Experts >>

Related Articles