Is glucose syrup safe to eat on the gluten-free diet?

Glucose syrup is typically made from corn in the U.S., although wheat is used more often in Europe. It’s also a highly processed ingredient, and that processing removes harmful gluten protein. In fact, both the European Food Safety Authority and researchers in Finland have concluded that glucose syrup made from wheat can be safely included in the gluten-free diet. Read more about glucose syrup (and other ingredients you don’t have to worry about) here. 

Learn more about the health and medical experts who who provide you with the cutting-edge resources, tools, news, and more on Gluten-Free Living.
About Our Experts >>

Related Articles