Myth: Distilled Vinegar is Not Gluten Free

Vinegar is accepted as gluten free by major celiac disease centers and support groups. In the United States most distilled white vinegar is made from corn. And even when it is made from wheat, which does happen often, the distillation process removes the gluten protein. Donald Kasarda, Ph. D., a grain scientist who is now retired from the USDA and who has a specific interest in gluten free grains, said there is no scientific evidence for gluten peptides in vinegar. Further, he said he does not know of a single chemist who thinks there are gluten peptides in distilled products.

Malt vinegar however, is made from barley and more importantly is fermented and not distilled so you do have to avoid it.

Learn more about the health and medical experts who who provide you with the cutting-edge resources, tools, news, and more on Gluten-Free Living.
About Our Experts >>

Advertisement
  • Rakdan

    “he does not know of a single chemist who thinks there are gluten peptides in distilled products”.

    Well,
    then I guess he does not know any chemists. ALL products that start
    with gluten and are distilled contain gluten. Anyone who understands
    science knows that distillation cannot remove ALL of the gluten. That is
    why things are distilled multiple times. Each time, more gluten is
    removed. The items may be “gluten free”, but that is only because the
    amount of gluten in them is less than 20 parts per million. This is not a
    matter of opinion. It is a fact that you cannot remove all of anything
    through distillation. I confirmed this with a PhD chemist.