For those new to gluten-free living, sifting through the common gluten and celiac myths can be overwhelming. To help navigate the sometimes-confusing world of celiac and the gluten-free diet, two experts weight in on five popular—but inaccurate—myths.
Gluten can turn up in foods where you would not expect to find it, licorice for example. But that’s not the same thing as hidden gluten.
In the United States most distilled white vinegar is made from corn.
There is a lot of debate about this topic, mainly because of the launch of Omission beer, which is made from barley and claims to process the beer so that the end product contains less than 6 ppm of gluten.
Find out if that the white powder found on sticks of gum is wheat flour or if that flour is dusted on machinery used to make gum.
Like all foods, you have to know what’s in lunch meat–not always an easy a task at the deli counter.
The study that’s often pointed to as proof that there is gluten in beauty products simply looked at whether gluten in cosmetics is clearly labeled.
Is the talk that spice makers secretly add flour to stretch out their spices and that the silicon dioxide used to keep spices from clumping contains gluten true?
Some drugs, both prescription and over-the-counter, do contain gluten and should be avoided on the gluten-free diet. But the number is actually quite small.
Food and Drug Administration rules allow the use of ingredients made from a gluten-containing grain that has been processed to remove gluten.