4. Distilled vinegar
Why it’s on worry lists in the first place: Vinegar can be made from corn or wheat-based alcohol. It’s found frequently in salad dressings and marinades.
Why you don’t have to worry: Gluten protein is removed during the distillation process because it is too heavy. This does not apply to malt vinegar, however. Malt vinegar is not distilled, so it still contains gluten. Also, check the labels on any flavored vinegar because some may include malt, which would be noted in the ingredients list.