5. Citric acid
Why it’s on worry lists in the first place: Usually, citric acid is made from corn, beet sugar or mold. Occasionally, it may be made from wheat. It’s a common ingredient in canned foods and soft drinks.
Why you don’t have to worry: Like dextrose, even if it was made from wheat, citric acid is a highly processed ingredient, and it is considered gluten free.