The New Word on Wheat Starch

A new and unlikely ingredient is making its way into a few gluten-free foods. Don’t be surprised to find wheat starch in some products in the United States.

New U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) rules allow wheat starch in gluten-free foods if the wheat starch is specially processed to remove gluten. Some food companies say it can improve flavor and texture in certain products.

But gluten-free consumers who have long gone by the rule that any food that contains wheat, barley or rye in any form is forbidden may have some trouble adjusting to the idea that certain kinds of wheat starch are now allowed.

It has already appeared in a chocolate and tangerine treat in one of GoPicnic’s gluten-free packaged meals. And Dr. Schär, a European company that has made foods for special diets for 93 years, will introduce gluten-free plain and chocolate-filled croissants containing wheat starch in the United States early this year. Dr. Schär currently sells gluten-free croissants in Europe that list wheat starch as a main ingredient.

Wheat starch processed to remove gluten, called Codex wheat starch, has been allowed in gluten-free food in Europe for more than a decade based on studies that show it is not harmful to those who have celiac disease. But wheat starch was not allowed in the United States until the recent finalization of the FDA rules for gluten-free foods.


Although some food companies plan to begin using wheat starch, don’t expect many to follow quickly. Overall, use of wheat starch in gluten-free food appears to be a tough sell to both food makers and consumers.

Danger signal

For decades the word “wheat” has signaled danger to anyone on a gluten-free diet. It’s of particular concern to people with celiac disease because of the damage gluten-containing grains cause to the small intestine. There’s only one effective treatment: lifelong, complete avoidance of any food containing gluten.

Those who have gluten sensitivity do not experience intestinal damage, but they often suffer symptoms severe enough to prompt them to completely eliminate gluten-containing grains, as well.

Pam Cureton, R.D., a celiac disease specialist at the Center for Celiac Research and Treatment in Boston, teaches new patients to read ingredient labels and to avoid wheat, barley, rye, malt, brewer’s yeast and—unless the product is labeled gluten free—oats.


But she now has to make an exception for wheat starch and explain to her patients why it can be acceptable on the gluten-free diet. Whenever wheat starch is used in a food labeled “gluten free,” it must appear in the ingredients list. Wheat will also appear in the “Contains” statement if the product has one.

The label also has to say that the “wheat has been processed to allow this food to meet the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) requirements for gluten-free foods.” When an ingredient list says only “starch,” it means cornstarch, which is naturally gluten-free, Cureton notes.

“When [gluten-free consumers] see ‘Contains wheat,’ of course they’ll put [the product] back on the shelf,” Cureton observes. “They’re hesitant to purchase even a product that says it’s manufactured in a plant that contains wheat.


“Our consumers will avoid those types of products. So a lot of education is needed to explain to them that this wheat starch has been processed to remove the protein and it must meet the standards of the FDA to be less than 20 parts per million [ppm].”

The FDA in 2013 established safety standards for gluten-free foods. Products labeled gluten free have to contain less than 20 ppm of gluten and may not be made with gluten-containing grains such as wheat or any derived ingredients that have not been processed to remove gluten.

However, foods labeled gluten free may contain a derived ingredient if it has been processed to remove gluten as long as the final food product contains less than 20 ppm. Wheat starch is an example of this kind of ingredient, along with a few others, according to the FDA.

Products made with gluten-free wheat starch are absolutely safe, says Cureton, even for people with particularly high sensitivity to gluten. Wheat starch contains such a tiny amount of gluten that it doesn’t significantly add to the gluten level in the final product. But consumers have to continue to read labels, understand what they mean, and make sure anything containing wheat starch also identifies itself as gluten-free and says that the ingredient has been processed to remove gluten.


For example, the label on a chocolate snack packet in GoPicnic’s gluten-free bean dip and tortilla chip meal includes wheat starch. The snack consists of a tangerine center, a sugar shell and dark chocolate. The ingredient list identifies “starch (Codex-approved gluten-free wheat starch)” and has additional allergen information: “contains soy and wheat starch, certified gluten-free (under 10 ppm) by the Gluten-Free Certification Organization.”

This labeling might seem wordy, but Cureton says it complies with the FDA rule for gluten-free foods. The FDA does not require—but does allow—gluten-free certification by a third party, such as the Gluten-Free Certification Organization.

European record

Wheat starch in a gluten-free food may come as a surprise to U.S. consumers, but it has an established record in Europe where Dr. Schär has used it for at least 20 years, according to Anne Lee, R.D., director of nutritional services for the company’s U.S. operations in Lyndhurst, New Jersey.


Research has found no evidence that foods containing gluten-removed wheat starch harm people with celiac disease. A 2003 study at Tampere University Hospital in Finland tracked newly diagnosed patients after they adopted a gluten-free diet.

One group of 23 randomly assigned volunteers ate only naturally gluten-free foods, while 26 also ate gluten-free products that contained wheat starch. After one year both groups showed equally good recovery based on reported symptoms and quality of life, small intestine biopsies and blood tests.

In recommending wheat starch, the authors of this study argued that minute contamination of less than 20 ppm of gluten is virtually impossible to avoid in any diet. International standards have accepted this level because it’s considered safe for the vast majority of people with celiac disease.

But some experts express skepticism. “I would not expect to see gluten-free wheat starch approved in Canada in the near future, but if the experience is a positive one in the United States, there may be a review of the situation in the mid to long term,” says Sue Newell, operations manager for the Canadian Celiac Association.


While wheat glucose syrup, wheat-based caramel and wheat maltodextrin—gluten-free derivatives allowed by Canadian labeling law—occur in food only in small fractions, wheat starch could contribute a higher proportion to the final food product, Newell notes. And she worries about the cumulative effect from traces of gluten in wheat starch when added to unavoidable gluten from cross-contamination.

Tricia Thompson, R.D., founder of Gluten Free Watchdog, a food-testing company in Boston, shares Newell’s concern. If a manufacturer chooses to use wheat starch, it should thoroughly test its products with a laboratory that takes multiple samples from each lot of wheat starch and the final products, she says.

“At least some testing should be done at an independent third-party testing facility,” Thompson says. “Studies published by both the FDA and Gluten Free Watchdog found that a majority of labeled gluten-free foods are testing under 5 ppm of gluten. It will be interesting to see how wheat-starch-based products test.”


The Celiac Disease Foundation supports the legislation allowing wheat starch, however. “The FDA went through a vigorous consulting process with the national groups in celiac disease, both medical and scientific, and this was the consensus: that wheat starch that has been processed to remove gluten to the FDA standard is safe for the celiac disease population,” says Marilyn Geller, chief executive officer of the foundation.

Authors of the Tampere University Hospital study point out wheat starch’s benefits. Compliance with a gluten-free diet is more important to recovery than avoiding trace amounts of gluten, they say. Because wheat starch improves the flavor and texture of certain foods, it can mean the difference in some people’s ability to accept such a difficult diet.

Early adopters

But will gluten-free consumers buy it? Toro, a Norwegian food company, tried introducing baking mixes containing wheat starch to U.S. markets before the FDA regulations were approved. In the absence of labeling standards, the product packages went into detail to explain how wheat starch could be safe. These details only confused people, according to Cureton. They wouldn’t buy the products, and Toro’s U.S. experiment failed.


“I’ll be anxious to taste more of the products as they come out using wheat starch,” says Cureton. “I think the first outing of products is going to have a tough road. If people taste the products and they don’t get sick, I think manufacturers down the road will have an easier time. But the first few brave companies will probably have to answer a lot of questions.”

Dr. Schär will be in that group. Founded in 1922, the company introduced its first line of gluten-free products in Europe in 1981 and entered the U.S. market in 2008. The company also sells its products in Canada and some countries in Latin America and the Middle East. Focusing on new food technology and innovative products, Dr. Schär has been trying to position itself as the leading producer for specialty diets in both Europe and North America. The company makes bread for U.S. markets in a plant in Swedesboro, New Jersey, and imports all other products from Europe.

Lee emphasizes that none of the Dr. Schär products familiar to U.S. consumers will change. The company has never used wheat starch in its breads and pastas, even in Europe. The company uses processed wheat starch only when necessary to achieve a high-quality product, she says. But the new croissants will showcase the sensory benefits of wheat starch.

“Even though you’re removing the protein, wheat starch provides a certain durability to the dough, an elasticity. So you can get a croissant that’s light and flaky,” Lee says. “Everyone gets used to gluten-free pasta. We get used to breads, although they’re getting better and better all the time. But to develop a puff pastry or a croissant: That’s hard to do with most gluten-free flours and starches.”

Extracting gluten

Not all wheat starch is made the same way, and products labeled gluten free can include only the type specifically processed to remove gluten. Lee does not say where Dr. Schär’s wheat starch comes from, but several European companies manufacture the ingredient for gluten-free foods.

The main components of wheat are fiber, starch and gluten protein. Extraction involves milling the wheat into flour, making dough and washing out the starch. Starch dissolves in water but gluten does not, so the gluten-protein sediment sinks to the bottom. Then the starch solution can be drained off and dried. Traditionally, the purified gluten fraction had more value, but the gluten-free industry has placed a demand on refined starch.

Peter Koehler, Ph.D., a food chemistry specialist at Leibniz Institute in Freising, Germany, says one German company purifies starch “by excessive washing with water until the gluten concentration is below the safety threshold.”

In Europe the standard for Codex wheat starch is 200 ppm gluten or less, meaning it must be further diluted during manufacturing to give a final product that tests safely below 20 ppm. According to the FDA, this will also be acceptable for products in the United States “as long as the final food product contains less than 20 parts per million (ppm) of gluten.”

Koehler has been researching how to use peptidase, an enzyme that breaks down gluten, to produce gluten-free wheat starch. It would provide better “water-use efficiency and quality of gluten reduction,” he says. However this technology remains in the experimental stage.

Lee says Dr. Schär follows a safety protocol in all its plants in Europe and the United States, and that approach will also apply to products that contain wheat starch.

When ingredients arrive, they’re not immediately brought into production. “They’re held in red-bag isolation … until they test free of gluten,” she says. “Then they are allowed into the production facility.”

Dr. Schär tests products along the production line and at the end as well. “We hold products for sampling purpose for six months to make sure that if there are any consumer questions we can go back to that exact batch and lot and recheck,” Lee says.

Another white flour

Apart from safety, critics argue that wheat starch does not improve nutrition. Gluten Free Watchdog’s Thompson says, “Wheat starch is not a nutritious food. It contains little to no fiber, vitamins and minerals. There are so many more healthful alternatives to wheat starch that I see absolutely no need to start using it in gluten-free products.”

Canadian Celiac Association’s Newell agrees. “Do we really need yet another nutrient-light but calorie-dense white flour?” she says. “I know there would be a consumer rejection from a segment of the gluten-free market, but some would choose to eat the product and depend on their own reactions to decide whether to continue.”

Some manufacturers agree with their concerns. Consumers will ultimately make their own choices. Those skeptical about the benefits of wheat starch will still have lots of alternatives.

A matter of choice

“Both our Udi’s and Glutino products never use wheat starch simply because it is derived from wheat, and, regardless of the removal of protein, it would still be an allergen,” says Caroline Hughes, corporate communications director for Boulder Brands. This policy means that Udi’s and Glutino products are not only gluten free but also safe for people with a wheat allergy.

Meanwhile, new products from GoPicnic, Dr. Schär and other companies will increase the range of choices for people on a gluten-free diet. Lee says that innovations in the food industry can improve both nutrition and enjoyment.

“From a dietitian’s perspective I love that we’re looking at really good, healthy grains,” she says. “We’re looking at reducing the fat, reducing the salt, reducing the sugar in the products, not just making the product gluten free but also very healthy.”

“I’ve actually had wheat-starch-based products when I’ve been in Europe,” says Lee, who has celiac disease. “The texture is far superior and I didn’t react. I love that we’re becoming smarter, and that’s allowing us to enjoy food much more. My research on quality of life shows the diet can have a huge negative impact, but if we open those doors with products that are better quality and better health-wise, that’s going to make the life of an individual with celiac disease significantly better.”

Van Waffle, who has a bachelor’s degree of science in biology, is research editor for Gluten-Free Living.  A resident of Ontario, Canada, he also contributes regularly to Edible Toronto and blogs about nature, gardening and local food at

Related Articles

Ingredients Index

Top 10 Ingredients You Really Don’t Need to Worry About

The New Word On Wheat Starch

Want first access to important gluten-free news articles like this one?

Sign up for our free e-newsletter to be the first to know about our newest gluten-free recipes, news, articles and more.

Learn more about the health and medical experts who who provide you with the cutting-edge resources, tools, news, and more on Gluten-Free Living.
About Our Experts >>


11 thoughts on “The New Word on Wheat Starch

  1. This news irritates me profoundly. As someone who moved from North
    America to Europe, I can say from my own personal experience that the
    European standards for gluten-free labeling are too lax. When I first
    came here I believed what was said about the products being processed
    enough that the products would contain so little gluten that I would
    never need to worry about the wheat derived glucose/fructose,
    maltodextrin. But it’s not true. While these levels of gluten won’t
    cause the same damage as say eating a piece of bread, they DO have an
    effect and you certainly notice it adding up over time. After a few
    months of living herE, my digestive health was way worse than in Canada.
    After deciding to eliminate every single thing that contained a wheat
    byproduct even if it is labeled gluten-free (not easy let me tell you,),
    my health improved significantly. 20 PPM of gluten is simply TOO much.
    Not having to worry about so many wheat by-products is one of the major
    things I miss about back home. Now they want to wreck the North American
    food market too?

    “Gluten free” wheat starch? I’d rather eat “poison-free” death cap mushrooms.

    1. I agree with you 100%. I hope with everything I have to hope with, that their profits are hit significantly enough that they’ll realize this ingredient is not only unnecessary (after all, we live without it now), but is financially harmful – as that really is all they care about – certainly they don’t care about our health or truly good food. I’m sick of the word processed as well. I think this great idea has put me off of anything with a label. I’m going 100% whole and fresh instead of 90%. Can’t trust anyone.

  2. This seems to be a simple case of profits are more important to Dr. Schär than the health of the consumers. Every celiac reacts differently to the ingestion of gluten, even at levels of 200 or 20ppm. Dr. Anne Rice, R.D, EMPLOYEE of Dr. Schär, tells us that she has actually had wheat-starch-based products…in Europe…and [she] didn’t react.” Sounds like definitive science that wheat starch is okay for all celiacs – NOT. From this point forward, I will discontinue purchasing any Schär products and use my voice to tell others to boycott. Consumers with celiac, and their health, matter more than profits!

  3. Starch does not mean corn starch. Corn starch means corn starch. Starch always means wheat. I found that out the hard way last Friday, when I ate some enzyme tablets with starch listed in the ingredients, thinking it meant corn starch.

  4. Nightmare. I am wheat and dairy intolerant and am feeling ill after eating dairy free cheese made with “starch”. I live in the UK so am under European labeling rules. Many products do now say where the starch is derived from. This product doesn’t. I have contacted the manufacturer. I have learnt to avoid anything containing glucose fructose syrup. Why does this have to be so difficult. I would like to know what I can and cant eat without having to make a painful mistake first.

  5. “the gluten-free industry has placed a demand on refined starch”
    NOTICE: The INDUSTRY has DEMANDED this!. And industry that focuses on profits alone!

    But hey, profits count over human life every time. this is the slow slide we get when “a little bit can’t hurt” as in the lie of “20ppm is safe” was accepted. The moment anyone is allowed to lie and state that a product is FREE of an ingredient when in fact there are TESTABLE amounts of said ingredient, safety and life went to heck.

    The only way to treat Celiac disease is with 100% gluten free.

    Why would I believe the same “science” that spent 40 years telling me there was no reason for my symptoms, misdiagnosed me with many other illnesses that I never had, and wrote me off as a mental case? I don’t. Science starts with a hypothesis and then PROVES that this guess is in fact true. Human disease needs observation of a different nature.

  6. As somebody with celiacs, I’m neither going to waste my time attempting to decide whether some bureaucrat understood anything when accepting the money from wheat-corp, nor going to risk my health for them. If it says wheat, I’m not touching it.

  7. Tho I appreciate the effort in disseminating information, are these sites putting out articles and using subscribers thumbs up/down +comments and ultimately aiding the food industry come up with crap like this?

    The writer never disclosed the extraction process and of course the makers aren’t going to divulge … right? So processed wheat starch is processed again? Hmm what’s wrong with that picture ? Your selling double whammy processed (possibly chemically extracted) starch for what now? So people can revert back to a highly processed diets?

    Wow I hope the GF world is monitoring our comments for a better purpose! We need more advocates!

    If you don’t have a handle of being GF don’t get roped in on substitutes. Just go back to basics! Eat fresh. Nothing out of a box or bag!

    1. They do actually disclose the extraction process, it’s under the heading “Extracting Gluten” and they explain that they make a dough, then wash the water soluble starch out of the gluten. Rinse and repeat until they get under 20 PPM.

  8. In USA the term “gluten-free” is a lie. 20 ppm is way too much gluten for a lot of cœliacs full stop. The food industry in countries like America are more interested in making a dollar than caring about making people sick. In Australia if gluten can be detected, BY LAW IT CANNOT BE LABELLED “gluten-free”, no matter what the amount! The CSIRO of Australia, currently the world’s best practice for standards of gluten testing, has developed methods that can detect even a few parts per million – let alone 20!

    Certainly there are a small number of cœliacs who can tolerate up to 50ppm, equivalent to 1/100th of a slice of toast. But most cœliacs are irritated by a few crumbs – that’s all it takes unfortunately. X amount of parts per million is one thing but it is the total amount consumed that matters. If a litre of soft drink contained 1ppm you could probably drink a bucketful without getting a gluten reaction. On the other hand, pig out on a packet of so-called “gluten-free” 19.99ppm biscuits made with wheat starch and you’re heading for trouble. And probably the doctor’s ha ha.

    The tests are there. Every country worldwide could immediately introduce a <5ppm (or even lower – certainly not 20!) "gluten-free" standard if it wasn't for the fact that most ecomomies and companies aren't prepared to change, or even label low-gluten products with the appropriate amount. "Would you like a biscuit or two with your cup of tea? They're only 7.65 ppm!"

  9. According to the Celiac Foundation and someone at the FDA 90% of Celiac and Gluten Intolerant people can handle a tablespoon of Gluten per day. According to the article there that equates to 18 slices of ‘Gluten Free’ bread that contains under 20 PPM (so watch that you don’t binge on ‘at risk’ products).

    The key to take away from this article is that unless it’s EXPLICITLY labeled as being processed to remove the gluten Wheat Starch can contain anywhere from 0-200 PPM, so unless it’s labeled like the exemplar GoPicnic you should probably avoid it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *