Oat Milk: Is it Gluten Free?

Is oat milk gluten free? Well, if you already know that oats are naturally gluten-free then the answer seems to be “yes.” But the truth is a bit more complicated.

Oats, like wheat, barley, rice, and cornmeal, are a grain. Unlike wheat, though, unprocessed oats do not contain gluten. It seems straightforward, but here’s the catch: Oats are often processed on the same equipment used for making wheat products.

Because of that fact gluten contamination is often inevitable. In fact, it’s possible that even certified gluten-free oats may cause a bad reaction in some people who have celiac disease. Those with celiac who find that they can stomach oats should be cautious when it comes to buying oat milk. Unless the oats used in oat milk are certified gluten free, then there is a risk that they’ve come into contact with grains at a processing facility.

If you find oat milk that is certified gluten free (we have a few suggestions below to get you started in your search) what exactly would you be drinking? Simply, oat milk is made by blending oats with water. The mixture is then strained to remove any pulp. The result is oat milk, which many find thicker and creamier than other types of plant-based milk. Also, there’s a slightly sweet taste making it perfect for coffee, cereal or just about any other drink or dish that requires milk.

Now, it’s important to note that every body is different. For anyone who has difficulty digesting grains, oat milk might not be the best choice. The good news is there’s plenty of non-oat milk options widely available including rice milk, soy milk, almond milk and many more. If you have no trouble digesting grains, oat milk may be a great choice, especially for those who have dairy or nut sensitivities or allergies. Also, it is low in saturated fat.

If you want to give oat milk a try, check out the brands listed below.

Gluten-Free Oat Milk

Oat Milk: Is it gluten free

Mooala

Coconut Oatmilk – MSRP $5.99

Texas-based Mooala started offering its plant-based and dairy-free oatmilk in early 2019. Best known for its organic line of products such as bananamilk and almond milk, the business notes that its oatmillk is made from certified gluten-free grains.

See here for more on Mooala oatmilk

Click here to see where Mooala products are sold

 

Oat Milk: Is it gluten free

Elmhurst

Milked Oats – MSRP $13.98 for two 32 oz. cartons

Established in 1925 as a dairy company, New York-based Elmhurst made the switch to plant-based milks in 2017. Its Milked Oats is made with 5 ingredients (filtered water, whole grain oats, cane sugar, salt, natural flavors) and has no added gums or emulsifiers.

Click here for more on Elmhurst and purchasing information.

 

Oat Milk: Is it gluten free

Planet Oat

OatMilk – MSRP $3.99

Planet Oat has a wide variety of oatmilk flavors including dark chocolate, original, vanilla and extra creamy. According to the company, its products are free of dairy, peanuts, tree nuts, artificial flavors, artificial colors, artificial preservatives, soy, and lactose. What it does have is 2 grams of protein and soluble fiber in each serving.

See here for more information on Planet Oat

Click here to see where Planet Oat products are sold

 

Oat Milk: Is it gluten free

Califia Farms

Barista Blend Oat – MSRP $27.99 for six 32 oz. cartons

Califia Farms (pronounced Cal-i-fia) says is focused on reducing sugar in its products and has reduced sugar by 57 percent since 2014 by offering new unsweetened products. Its Oat Barista Blend is made with gluten-free oats grown in North America. And, the milk has no gums or stabilizers. It’s also dairy free, sugar free, carrageenan free, non-GMO, vegan and kosher.

Click for more on Califia Farms and purchasing information

Learn more about the health and medical experts who who provide you with the cutting-edge resources, tools, news, and more on Gluten-Free Living.
About Our Experts >>

Advertisement

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *