Wheat Syrup

Is wheat syrup gluten free? I bought Hero Jam and noticed wheat syrup on label. Do I have to throw it out?

I checked with the company and the wheat syrup is wheat glucose syrup. Here is what our investigation of wheat glucose syrup has found: Glucose syrup is a gluten- free sweetener made most frequently from corn, but also from tapioca, potato, and sorghum or wheat starch. It is such a highly processed and purified ingredient that the source of the starch does not matter. Even if you see glucose syrup derived from wheat on a label, it is still gluten free. Although GFL did the original reporting on glucose syrup, celiac support groups and other gluten- free experts agree that it is gluten free. You don’t have to toss the jam!

Back to Q&A

Learn more about the health and medical experts who who provide you with the cutting-edge resources, tools, news, and more on Gluten-Free Living.
About Our Experts >>