Scotch and Bourbon

I continue to find differing views on this subject: Is there gluten in either scotch or bourbon? There doesn’t seem to be any consensus.

Both of these alcoholic beverages are distilled. While there may be a lack of consensus in the celiac community, the scientific community is in total agreement that distillation effectively removes gluten peptides. That means the resulting product would be gluten free unless something that contains gluten was added after distillation, which would be unusual in alcoholic beverages.

Back to Q&A

Learn more about the health and medical experts who who provide you with the cutting-edge resources, tools, news, and more on Gluten-Free Living.
About Our Experts >>


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *