Is miso gluten free?

Miso, a Japanese condiment, is a fermented paste made from beans and grain. The beans used include soybeans, chickpeas, and adzuki beans, all of which are gluten free. Grains used include rice, millet, amaranth and quinoa, which are gluten free and wheat, barley and rye, which are not. You can sometimes tell if a miso contains gluten by its name. For example, mugi miso always contains barley and tsubi miso always contains wheat and barley. Some brands identify the bean or the grain in the name of the miso, for example barley miso or brown rice miso. Eden Foods’ Gen Mi Brown Rice Miso and Shiro Miso do not contain any ingredients with gluten. South River Miso’s adzuki bean, chick pea, golden millet, garlic red pepper and hearty brown rice misos contain only glutenfree ingredients. The company notes that these flavors are made on the same equipment as the barley miso. Miso is a main ingredient in miso soup. The soup would not be gluten free if the miso contains gluten. Edward & Sons has four flavors of instant miso soup that are GF: original golden vegetable, traditional with tofu, reduced sodium and Japanese restaurant style.

Back to Q&A

Learn more about the health and medical experts who who provide you with the cutting-edge resources, tools, news, and more on Gluten-Free Living.
About Our Experts >>


One thought on “Miso

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *