Licorice Root

I am trying to find out whether licorice root is gluten free (i.e. licorice root tea). I know licorice is not, but I am not sure if it is the plant itself or the way in which licorice is made that adds gluten.

Licorice root comes from the root of the licorice plant and does not contain gluten. Herbal tea that contains licorice root is gluten free as long it has no other gluten- containing ingredients. Some herbal teas contain barley. When they do, barley or barley malt is usually listed on the ingredients label. The candy, licorice, is made using wheat flour and that’s why it is not gluten free. However, some licorice candy does not even contain the licorice extract that comes from the licorice root. The licorice flavor comes from anise.

Back to Q&A

Learn more about the health and medical experts who who provide you with the cutting-edge resources, tools, news, and more on Gluten-Free Living.
About Our Experts >>


One thought on “Licorice Root

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *