Is Salad Dressing Gluten Free?

Whether salad dressing is gluten free is a confusing topic, because many dressings do contain gluten in additives, while others do not. 

 When you are at the store, gazing at a bottle of dressing and wondering if it contains gluten, first check the food allergen statement on products to see if it says “contains wheat.” If there is a statement that says “contains wheat,” the dressing is not gluten free.

When you look at the ingredient list, check for wheat, rye or barley and ingredients that might contain gluten that are often found in salad dressing. These include: 

  • Artificial color
  • Dextrin
  • Ground spices
  • Natural Flavorings
  • Malt
  • Malt vinegar
  • Flour
  • Soy sauce
  • Food starch

Gluten-free salad dressings

Here are some gluten-free salad dressing options to look out for in stores (as of the time this article was published). Please look at the ingredients in each salad dressing to ensure that it is gluten free, as ingredients in products can change! 

The information in our ingredients index will help you read a food label. It is based on the research we have done by interviewing experts in the field of food science, so review the list if you see any suspicious ingredients in your salad dressing.

  • Brianna’s Salad Dressings (12 of their dressings are gluten free, but not all of them)
  • Cardini’s (except Roasted Asian Sesame dressing)
  • Girard’s (except Sundried Tomato and Artichoke and Chinese Chicken Salad)
  • Hidden Valley (check the label to make sure your flavor is gluten free)
  • Marzetti’s (not all are gluten free, though most are)
  • Newman’s Own (except Family Recipe Italian Dressing and Sesame Ginger Dressing)
  • Organicville
  • Pfeiffer
  • Ken’s (64 of their 68 dressings are gluten free)

Make your own salad dressing

It’s not hard to make a gluten-free dressing of your own! Experiment with some of our recipes until you find your favorite.

If you prefer something simple, just season your salad with salt and pepper, a squeeze of lime juice and olive oil to taste!

Gluten-free salad toppings

Think you have to go without croutons or other salad fixings because you are gluten free? Think again! These gluten-free salad toppers will add fantastic flavor to your mixed greens.

Grate Parmesan

Go Veggie Lactose Free Grated Parmesan cheese alternative is the perfect addition to any salad for all you cheese lovers out there. It’s not limited to salad either. Sprinkle it on pizza, pasta and even popcorn—any dish or snack that could use a Parmesan punch. And this tasty, versatile topping is both lactose and gluten free.

 

Get dressed up

A salad with no dressing is really no salad at all. Luckily, Briannas Fine Salad Dressings has got you covered (literally!), since 12 of their 15 salad dressings are gluten free. Their tasty varieties include Champagne Vinaigrette, Rich Poppy Seed, Blush Wine Vinaigrette and Creamy Cilantro Lime, so go ahead and get dressed.

 

Sprinkled with love

Ever have difficulty putting together the perfect mix of toppings to complement your salad? Never fear! Sheffa Salad Sprinkles are here to do the heavy lifting for you. Each package contains a variety of gluten-free ingredients carefully selected to boost your salad. Your dinner guests never need be the wiser!

 

Get your crouton on

Salads are healthy, but that doesn’t mean they don’t occasionally need help in the taste department. That’s where Ian’s stepped in to create a line of delicious gluten-free croutons. Available in a variety of flavors including Italian and Rosemary Garlic, they are sure to spice up any salad.

 

What about when I go out to eat? 

When you go out to dinner and your waiter asks what kind of salad dressing you prefer, refer to our guide on Eating Out Gluten Free for tips. Tell your server you have celiac or gluten intolerance and need to avoid anything with wheat, barley or rye and most oats. Be clear that this includes flour, breading, croutons, soy sauce or teriyaki sauce, and seasoning that might contain flour.  

Are you new to the gluten-free diet? Sign up for our free e-newsletter to receive gluten-free recipes, news, articles and more delivered to your inbox each week.

What is gluten? 

Gluten is a name for the proteins found in wheat, rye and barley. According to the Celiac Disease Foundation, gluten helps foods maintain their shape, acting as a glue that holds food together. It is found in many types of foods, even ones that would not be expected.

Many people choose to follow a gluten-free diet because of celiac disease. Celiac disease is an autoimmune disorder in which the body mistakenly reacts to gluten as if it were a poison. When someone with celiac consumes gluten, the immune system reacts by destroying the part of the small intestine that absorbs vital nutrients. This malabsorption can lead to serious illness. Learn more about celiac disease here. 

Learn more about the health and medical experts who who provide you with the cutting-edge resources, tools, news, and more on Gluten-Free Living.
About Our Experts >>

Advertisement

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *