Is Nutella Gluten Free?

Is Nutella gluten free? Yes, it is! Nutella does not contain any ingredients deriving from wheat, barley, rye or oats, according to the Ferrero Foodservice website

In addition, the sweet, chocolate hazelnut spread is kosher and peanut-free. 

To subscribe to our weekly email with recipes, research, news and tips to live a happy, healthy, gluten-free life, click here. 

Be aware that if someone else in your family is using the jar of Nutella, it could be at risk of cross-contamination. Avoid using Nutella that could have bread crumbs lingering in it that contain gluten. Learn more about potential cross-contamination in the kitchen here. 

We recommend enjoying Nutella on Sweet Gluten-Free Crêpes along with some fresh fruit! 


What is gluten? 

Gluten is a name for the proteins found in wheat, rye and barley. According to the Celiac Disease Foundation, gluten helps foods maintain their shape, acting as a glue that holds food together. It is found in many types of foods, even ones that would not be expected.

Many people choose to follow a gluten-free diet because of celiac disease. Celiac disease is an autoimmune disorder in which the body mistakenly reacts to gluten as if it were a poison. When someone with celiac consumes gluten, the immune system reacts by destroying the part of the small intestine that absorbs vital nutrients. This malabsorption can lead to serious illness. Learn more about celiac disease here. 

Learn more about the health and medical experts who who provide you with the cutting-edge resources, tools, news, and more on Gluten-Free Living.
About Our Experts >>


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *