Is Ice Cream Gluten Free?

Many flavors of popular brands of ice cream are gluten free. Brands like Ben and Jerry’s, Breyers and Häagen-Dazs have plenty of flavors that do not contain gluten. However, be careful: some brands and flavors do contain gluten and it is always crucial to read the ingredients to make sure your ice cream of choice is safe.

Gluten-free ice cream

(As of June 2019, the ice cream flavors listed below were gluten free. Ingredients and formulations can change, so always be sure to double check the label and/or follow up with the manufacturer.)

Ben and Jerry’s has plenty of fantastic gluten-free flavors, including Cherry Garcia, Chocolate Macadamia, Chunky Monkey, Mint Chocolate Chunk, Phish Food and Triple Caramel Chunk. Click here for the full list. 

Breyers offers more than 30 gluten-free flavors, including Mint Chocolate Chip, Vanilla Caramel and Vanilla Fudge Twirl. Click here for the full list. 

Dove ice cream is one of your best bets, as almost all their ice cream flavors are gluten free (excepting Vanilla with Fudge Brownies). 


Häagen-Dazs has mouthwatering gluten-free options, from Banana Peanut Butter Chip to White Chocolate Raspberry Truffle ice cream. Click here for the full list. 

So Delicious tests their ingredients for all of the “Big 8” allergens in their plant (this includes soy, almond, cashew, coconut, peanuts, dairy, wheat and gluten). Most of their products are gluten free, including gluten-free Cookie Dough and gluten-free Cookies and Cream. Click here to learn more about So Delicious allergen testing.

Turkey Hill offers many gluten-free ice cream flavors, including Banana Split, Butter Almond & Chocolate, Chocolate Peanut Butter Cup, Moose Tracks and many more. Check out their other gluten-free flavors here. 

Ice cream brands that have exclusively gluten-free products include Cashewtopia, Wink Frozen Desserts, NadaMoo and Coconut Bliss.


What about when I go out for ice cream? 

If your friends want to grab some ice cream from a shop this summer, refer to our guide on Eating Out Gluten Free for tips. Tell your server you have celiac or gluten intolerance and need to avoid anything with wheat, barley or rye and most oats. Ask your server about serving policies to find out whether the ice cream could be cross contaminated, and ask them to change their gloves and use a different ice cream scoop for you.

Make your own gluten-free ice cream

If you’re feeling adventurous, making your own ice cream can be a fun summer activity! Try one of these gluten-free recipes. 

Gluten is a name for the proteins found in wheat, rye and barley. According to the Celiac Disease Foundation, gluten helps foods maintain their shape, acting as a glue that holds food together. It is found in many types of foods, even ones that would not be expected.


Many people choose to follow a gluten-free diet because of celiac disease. Celiac disease is an autoimmune disorder in which the body mistakenly reacts to gluten as if it were a poison. When someone with celiac consumes gluten, the immune system reacts by destroying the part of the small intestine that absorbs vital nutrients. This malabsorption can lead to serious illness. Learn more about celiac disease here. 

Learn more about the health and medical experts who who provide you with the cutting-edge resources, tools, news, and more on Gluten-Free Living.
About Our Experts >>


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *