Are potatoes gluten free? The short answer is yes, potatoes and sweet potatoes are gluten free. Gluten is the protein found in wheat, rye and barley, and potatoes are a starchy, tuberous vegetable that does not contain this protein.
All types of plain potatoes are gluten free, but when potatoes are made into another dish, like French fries, potato chips or used in a stew, gluten can be introduced. Cross-contamination can also be an issue when gluten-free potato dishes are prepared in the same area or with the same kitchen equipment as foods with gluten.
Many brands of potato chips are gluten free, including my personal favorite, Cape Cod potato chips, Eatsmart Naturals potato chips (the Garden Veggie Crisps), Food Should Taste Good chips, Kettle brand potato chips, Frito-Lay brand chips, Utz, Terra and POPchips. There’s nothing like tearing open a bag of potato chips and enjoying the crunch and salt. And plenty of the potato chips you find in the store do not contain gluten!
When it comes to fries, many fast food restaurants have a separate gluten-free fryer, but you should always ask first to make sure the workers at your restaurant location are using a dedicated fryer. Select locations of Chick-Fil-A, Five Guys Burgers & Fries and In N Out Burger all offer gluten-free fries.
You can also make your own French fries! Try the Oven-Baked Gluten-Free French Fries.
Potato starch can be used in gluten-free baking. It is a pure white, neutrally flavored flour ground from the dehydrated starch of potatoes. It lightens the texture of baked goods and is good for all baking. A starchy flour like potato starch adds lightness and airiness to the crumb while softening the dominance of the protein flour. Click here for some of our favorite gum-free flour blends.
Gluten-free dishes with potatoes
Get your potato on with these scrumptious gluten-free recipes!