Are Oreos Gluten Free?

Are Oreos gluten free? Unfortunately no, they are not, as wheat is used in the Oreo recipe. 

However, there are plenty of Oreo alternatives that are gluten free and can be enjoyed instead. Kinnikinnick makes KinniToos which are dairy free, peanut and tree nut free and kosher. Glutino, My Dad’s, Becca’s Gourmet Goodies, Great Value (Wal-Mart brand) and Trader Joe’s all have gluten-free versions of the Oreo cookie. 

To subscribe to our weekly email with recipes, research, news and tips to live a happy, healthy, gluten-free life, click here. 

What is gluten? 

Gluten is a name for the proteins found in wheat, rye and barley. According to the Celiac Disease Foundation, gluten helps foods maintain their shape, acting as a glue that holds food together. It is found in many types of foods, even ones that would not be expected.

Many people choose to follow a gluten-free diet because of celiac disease. Celiac disease is an autoimmune disorder in which the body mistakenly reacts to gluten as if it were a poison. When someone with celiac consumes gluten, the immune system reacts by destroying the part of the small intestine that absorbs vital nutrients. This malabsorption can lead to serious illness. Learn more about celiac disease here. 

Learn more about the health and medical experts who who provide you with the cutting-edge resources, tools, news, and more on Gluten-Free Living.
About Our Experts >>

Advertisement