Are Marshmallows Gluten Free?

Are marshmallows gluten free? Most brands on store shelves are indeed gluten free; however, some brands do have trace amounts of gluten from their gluten-containing starch.

Always read the labels before purchasing marshmallows for your summer s’mores or rice crispy treats. 

The brand Kraft makes Jet Puffed marshmallows, a popular brand found in most stores, that come in mini and jumbo sizes. Jet Puffed marshmallows do not contain gluten. 

The company Doumak’s marshmallows are all gluten free. Doumak makes marshmallows for private store brands, including Walmart’s store brand and CVS Brand.

Marshmallow Peeps, made by Just Born, are also usually gluten free, but make sure the packaging says “gluten free” on it so you know it’s safe to eat. 

Smashmallow is a marshmallow brand that makes naturally gluten-free gourmet marshmallows, including Cinnamon Churro, Mint Chocolate Chip, Cookie Dough and Root Beer Float marshmallows. Smashmallow also has a line of Smash Crispy treats in tons of fun flavors. 

Are marshmallows vegan? 

Because marshmallows contain gelatin, which is not vegan, many marshmallows are not vegan. However, vegan marshmallows are becoming increasingly popular. Dandies sells all-natural, gluten-free and vegan marshmallows that are the first ever marshmallow to be Non-GMO Project Verified. Trader Joe’s also sells a brand of vegan marshmallows. 

Can I make my own marshmallows? 

It is possible to make marshmallows from scratch so you can be sure they haven’t been cross contaminated and you can even add your own flavorings. Check out our recipe for Vanilla Bean Espresso Marshmallows, which you can customize to fit your marshmallow flavor fantasy. 

What recipes incorporate marshmallows? 

Plenty! Here are some of our favorites. 

If you’re making s’mores, check out our list of the top five gluten-free graham crackers. 

What is gluten? 

Gluten is a name for the proteins found in wheat, rye and barley. According to the Celiac Disease Foundation, gluten helps foods maintain their shape, acting as a glue that holds food together. It is found in many types of foods, even ones that would not be expected.

Many people choose to follow a gluten-free diet because of celiac disease. Celiac disease is an autoimmune disorder in which the body mistakenly reacts to gluten as if it were a poison. When someone with celiac consumes gluten, the immune system reacts by destroying the part of the small intestine that absorbs vital nutrients. This malabsorption can lead to serious illness. Learn more about celiac disease here. 

Learn more about the health and medical experts who who provide you with the cutting-edge resources, tools, news, and more on Gluten-Free Living.
About Our Experts >>

Advertisement

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *