Are Burger King Fries Gluten Free?

Burger King_French_Fries

Burger King fries will routinely be made in fryers also used to make wheat-containing hash browns, the fast food chain announced today.

In a post appearing on the Food Allergy Research and Education website, Burger King said:

We are informing the food allergen community about the change in cooking procedure for our French Fries. Starting on August 3rd 2015, French Fries will no longer be cooked in a separate fryer. They will be cooked in the same fryer as Hash Browns that contain wheat flour, resulting in the likely risk of cross-contact with a known allergen for the French fries. Therefore, from now on, French Fries may contain wheat.

We are updating our website, to reflect this change. Our guests will continue to find complete and up-to-date nutritional and allergen information for BURGER KING® menu items on our website.


A Burger King spokesperson in an email said, ” As has always been the case, BURGER KING ® restaurants handle many products with wheat and other major food allergens, and therefore we cannot guarantee an allergen free environment”.

My family has avoided Burger King fries for a long time after having found breaded onion rings mixed in a few times. It never gave us a lot of confidence in the gluten-free status of the fries.

Despite today’s announcement, Burger King’s website continues to be confusing on the topic of how the fries are prepared. In a statement on allergens, the company’s site today continued to say that they are fried separately in a designated fryer.

But on it’s List for Guests with Gluten Sensitivity, which pointedly says it is not for those with celiac disease, there’s a notation that the fries “may be fried with gluten containing foods.”


If you had been eating Burger King fries with the understanding they were made in a dedicated fryer, this news will impact your choice starting today.


New to the gluten-free diet?

Sign up for our free e-newsletter to receive gluten-free recipes, news, articles and more delivered to your inbox each week.

Learn more about the health and medical experts who who provide you with the cutting-edge resources, tools, news, and more on Gluten-Free Living.
About Our Experts >>


4 thoughts on “Are Burger King Fries Gluten Free?

  1. *Gasp* You mean to say that they were “gluten free” before???

    All kidding aside though, this is a great and informative article, but the truth is that most fast food restaurants (really, restaurants in general) are not concerned with cross contamination of this sort. These companies have no reason to pander to the needs of allergy sensitive persons, unless they are genuinely life threatening conditions. That’s not to say that Celiac’s Disease and gluten intolerance aren’t potentially deadly, but in the vast majority of cases it takes months and sometimes years before long term damage can happen.

    Honestly though, as much as I hate to say it, don’t trust these restaurants. Occasionally you can find a chain or franchise that’s particularly careful, but most fast food restaurants are just plain dangerous. I’m not saying there’s no hope, just don’t take the website of a multinational company’s word for it. Check reviews and ask about their procedures. If you say you have celiac disease and they say “Huh?”, 9 times out of 10 you should just leave.

    There’s plenty of hope out there, but I’m sad to say that fast food fries will likely never be on your menu.

  2. It’s hard to go out for a day…I have to bring food in my purse. I get’s a nightmare. I miss my Chinese food..

  3. Shame on Burger King!!! I hope the idiot who made this horrible decision develops a gluten sensitivity one day!!!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *