Pickles

Are pickles gluten free?

A pickle is a cucumber that has been soaked in a briny solution to make it sour. My mother used to make the crunchiest pickles in a crock that sat in a corner of our kitchen when I was a kid.

That kind of homemade pickle and the kind you buy in a jar at the grocery are gluten free. Pickles are sometimes questioned because they are made with vinegar and the safety of vinegar has been questioned in the past.

But the vinegar is distilled and is gluten free so the pickles are too. Heinz and Vlasic brands specifically say their pickles are gluten free on their web sites.